Gangsta 2 Da Core

by NÜK

This SONG has a very interesting history that I’m glad I can finally explain! The song actually was started before I even got to Pittsburgh. I originally wrote this song a few months after I completed the track with MC Breed back in 2004. The 1st version of this song was actually me tacking 3 verses I had wrote to another beat over this West Coast sounding track. My cousin M. Frank came up with that whole situation…he hated that version…I rewrote it, rerecorded it, then released the song…it was SO bad! That instrumental didn’t work well with my vocals either, in my opinion. I needed something different…

Enter Flawless of The Olympicks

Track 5: Gangsta 2 Da Core

I have been knowing Flaw since his stage name was Snax. And I do believe that is around the time I acquired the instrumentals from him. Before him and The Olympicks became big time producers for Lil Wayne, Rick Ross and whoever else, he worked with me! He threw me this track back when we were all green to how the recording process worked. I mean, we could record songs, but not knowing how to make them radio quality held us back a lot. Live and learn. Learn then teach.

Fast forward maybe 5 years or better, I finally had the chance to record the song with my own equipment. At that point, I performed the song in Los Angels California, Springfield Ohio, Cleveland Ohio, & Pittsburgh Pennsylvania a few times. I originally intended for the song to be on my 1st studio LP, I was going to have the beat updated so that it could be mixed properly. Then the accident

Being that this was an album cut, this song held a LOT more weight to it than the rest of the tracks. I wrote this song with the intent that it could be a single. I also let a lot of my personal and business connections be known on wax. This song is lyrical, metaphorical, comical, and most important: authentic. A LOT of my personality is in this track. On the album, this song was to come before one of my FAVORITE songs. It also set the tone for the next direction of my 1st album, the LP that I’ve spent my entire life writing. Too bad I had to put that momentum on hold…for the moment. I still plan on following through with my original intent for this song. One day it will be heard the same way I hear it in my head.

“Ü gotta ride to the bass/ don’t tell a snitch NOTHING/ even if it’s only just a lie to the face!” – Gangsta 2 Da Core

NÜK

Album_Cover_Back_new_01

